Name
COVID-19 Impact on Food Systems

Description

KnowFood: Better Data. Better Knowledge. Better Food.

REGISTER NOW FOR YOUR FREE TICKET and LIVE Q&A ~

We'llbe interviewing global scientists and thought leaders to foster collaborationand advance global food digitization efforts.

KnowFood happenson the third Thursday of every month, beginning January 21, 2021 @ 9 am PST /12 pm EST / 5 pm GMT.

Episode 1, January 21: Know COVID:COVID-19 impact on food systems

COVIDhas laid bare many fragilities of increasingly centralized local-to-global foodsystems, and the single points of failure associated with them. This episodewill "lean into COVID"--that is, identify opportunities that existfor information technologies, and knowledge graphs--specifically, to beginaddressing salient issues, indicators, resources, and strategies for improvingresilience of food systems.

Confirmedguests include:

DamionDooley, Developer of FoodOn, the world's most comprehensive, integrated, andopen Food Ontology, and

ChrisMungall, Scientist and department head at Lawrence Berkeley NationalLaboratory--perhaps the world's most prolific and cited biological ontologist.He also leads development of the world's largest open knowledge graph aboutCOVID.

Co-hostsinclude:

MatthewLange, Food informatician and President/Co-founder of IC-FOODS, and

CourtneyRiggle, Researcher with Food Systems Lab at UC Davis, and Co-founderof IC-FOODS

REGISTER NOW FOR YOUR FREE TICKET and LIVE Q&A ~

 

Start Date
Thu, 03/18/2021 - 09:00
End Date
Thu, 03/18/2021 - 10:00
Anonymous (not verified)